Parish Alvars: Ricordi di Napoli

Parish Alvars, Elias: Ricordi di Napoli
Serenata op. 83, Il Mandolino op. 84, Il Pappagallo op. 85, Marcia di Portici op. 87 (fac-simile edition)

In December 1843-January 1844, Parish Alvars composed these pieces during a holiday in Naples with his family. This time was one of the happiest of his life. These masterpices combine perfectly the research for new effects and thechniques on the harp with easy and brilliant themes. As they were published separately they are today never considered as a unit. This is the first edition collecting them. The story is easy to gasp: with Portici (a city near Naples) in the background, a frivolous ladies’ man (Il Pappagallo) sings a serenade (Serenata) to a woman with a mandolin (Il mandolino).

Author: Elias Parish-Alvars
Editor: Floraleda Sacchi
Publication Date: 2012
Pages: pp. 52
ISMN: 979-0-2153-2019-2

Ut Orpheus Shop >>>